For maximum safety and security, you should store your important documents on the network drives provided to you. Our network drives are housed on secure servers that are only accessible by authorized individuals. These drives are backed up frequently, so if you ever lose or accidentally delete a file or folder, we can recover it for you, usually right away. You can access all of our network drives from any computer on-campus, or remotely by using our ownCloud service. For instructions on how to access our network drives on a Mac, click here.
Our network drives come in three varieties:
Your Personal Drive (P:) - Every employee and student gets a P: drive of their very own with the creation of their network account. We recommend that you use this drive to store all of your important files. Students are granted 5 GB of storage to work with. Employees start with 25 GB of storage. Employees in need of additional storage to do their work should contact their Computing Coordinator.
The Shared Drive (S:) - Most faculty and staff, and some student employees, have access to a shared network drive for their department, called the S: drive. The S: drive is configured so that members of the same department can share files and collaborate on projects. The most common place to save files for shared use within your department is the S:\DATA folder. Every department also has a Special Access folder, which is used to house projects and files that only some members of a department should have access to. If you think you need a folder created in Special Access for one of your projects, talk to your department head.
The Courses Drive (X:) - The X: drive is a special drive for course instructors to use to share files with, and collect files from, the students enrolled in their courses. (NOTE: Not all instructors use the X: drive. If you’re a student and you’re unsure whether you’re expected to use the X: drive as part of a given course, ask your instructor.) New course folders are created two weeks before the beginning of a term; old course folders are removed two weeks after the beginning of a term. To learn more about the X: drive, click here.