How to Properly Close Your Remote Desktop Session

It is important that you properly close out of your remote desktop session when accessing SOU's remote desktop environments so that the computing resources you were using can be made available to other people. When people forget to close their session, it causes our remote desktop environments to run more slowly for everyone, so please remember to close your session properly by utilizing either of the two, simple methods explained below.

Do NOT exit your session by selecting Disconnect from the power options or by simply quitting the RDP client running on your local device. That will only disconnect you from the session without closing it. That's fine if you plan to return to your session soon, but until you truly close your session, you will continue to use up resources on the remote server that someone else could be using.

Method 1 - Left-click the Start Menu button and Log Out

Left-click on the Start Menu button, then click on the profile icon that looks like a person, and then click on Sign out.

Method 2 - Right-click the Start Menu button and Log Out

Right-click on the Start Menu button, then hover your mouse over the Shut down or sign out menu, and then select Sign out from the submenu by clicking on it.