Using Your Web Browser's Private Browsing Mode

All modern web browsers offer a feature known as private browsing mode. Private browsing mode temporarily suspends the collection of your web browsing history, and it also creates a separate, temporary cache and cookie space in your web browser that gets purged when you close the private browsing window. The purpose of private browsing mode is to protect your privacy, but it can also be incredibly useful for troubleshooting or preventing issues related to your web browser's cache and cookies. The IT Department may occasionally ask you to use private browsing mode as a troubleshooting step or as a way to avoid issues with conflicting logins, especially with Google's services.

How to Use Private Browsing Mode in Your Web Browser


Google Chrome: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95464?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en


Mozilla Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/private-browsing-use-firefox-without-history


Apple's Safari browser

On a MacOS laptop or desktop: https://support.apple.com/guide/safari/browse-in-private-ibrw1069/mac

On an iPhone or an iPad: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203036


Microsoft Edge: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4026200/microsoft-edge-browse-inprivate